Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Public Affairs : Men's V-Ball wins championship

army trophy.JPG
Army Men's Volleyball secures championship title

Submitted by West Point Men's Volleyball

The Army Men’s Volleyball team returned to West Point Oct. 28 as the 2012-13 Patriot League champions, defeating the U.S. Naval Academy along its road to victory.

The Patriot League tournament was hosted by Lehigh University Oct. 26-Sunday and included Lehigh’s A/B teams, Colgate, Bucknell, Navy and Army.

Army opened in pool play facing both Lehigh B and Navy. After defeating Lehigh B, Navy proved to be no match for the cohesive Army unit across the net. Army defeated Navy 3-1 to finish first in pool play and advanced to the semifinals where they faced Bucknell University in a best of five series.

Army won a close first game, 25-23, but then dropped the second game to Bucknell. Army made some adjustments and won the next two games to advance to the finals.

In the championship match, the Army team faced Lehigh University, who had home-court advantage and support of the fans. The Army offense was led by senior co-captains Riki Herrero and Larry McGill. As the starting setter, Herrero provided strategic play-calling and ran each offensive play. McGill continued his consistent play as the most lethal offensive weapon on the right side, both in front and back row attacks. Juniors Eric Nelson and Taylor Herrington dominated the net in the middle, while the outside hitter positions were anchored by junior Charles Masters and freshman Chase Binkley. Junior Richie Dulce owned the backcourt as the libero and defensive specialist for the Army team.

Army swept Lehigh 3-0 to become the 2012-13 Patriot League champions. The Army Men’s Volleyball team is scheduled to host Air Force at 5:30 p.m. Nov. 2 on the 2nd floor of Arvin Cadet Physical Development Center.

mcgill attack - Copy.JPG
Senior Co-Captain Larry McGill leaps for the kill en route to the  Army Men's Volleyball team's championship win Oct. 28 in the 2012-13 Patriot League tournament. Courtesy Photo